Students from throughout the region participate in the annual Inge Festival High School 10-Minute Play Competition. Above are students from Labette County High School at the 2016 Inge Festival.

High School Writers, Actors Win Awards at
Inge Festival High School Acting Competition

Outstanding high school writers and actors were recognized for achievement during the 2017 William Inge Theater Festival High School 10-Minute Play Competition at Independence Community College.

Students from across Kansas wrote their original short plays, and then performed them before a panel of guest artist judges.

The winners in playwriting are: First Place, Javier Cervantes, Garden City High School; Runner-up: Austin Hancock, Coffeyville High School; and two Honorable Mention: Carden Forbes, Labette County High School; and Anan Howland, Independence High School.

The award for Outstanding Actor went to Jacob Arellano, of Garden City High School. Runner up was Blade Smith, Labette County High School, and Honorable mention went to Colten may and John Dohogne, of Garden City.

Outstanding Actress Award went to Madison Adler, of Garden City High School, and the runner-up, Erica Ramos, also of Garden City.  The Honorable Mention Actress Award winners were Doraly Aguirre, of Independence, and Sierra Wilson, Labette County.

The next comepetition will be during the 2018 William Inge Theater Festival. Contact the Inge Center in January of 2018 at for information.

The William Inge Theater Festival at ICC is the Official Theater Festival of the State of Kansas and has just completed its 36th year.