2019 Inge Festival Scholars' Conference Call for Papers

Papers are invited on the films and plays of William Inge, and/or the works of our 2019 honoree Octavio Solis, designed for a 20-minute oral presentation at the conference. A wide variety of perspectives and themes are encouraged.  Papers selected for presentation at the conference will be deposited in the William Inge Collection at Independence Community College, the major repository of Inge manuscripts, letters, and memorabilia. An online archive of papers is also currently under development.

The William Inge Theatre Festival and Conference is in its fourth decade of honoring major living playwrights through a wide range of performances, readings, seminars, workshops, lectures, panel discussions and historical activities.  For four days this year, the small city of Independence, Kansas, becomes the theatrical center of the universe, with visits from the nation’s greatest playwrights, directors, actors and other theatre practitioners, who all meet to honor a distinguished playwright in a playwright’s town.  The 38th Annual festival will be held May 22-25, 2019

Past recipients are: Edward Albee,  Robert Anderson, Jerry Bock & Sheldon Harnick, Carlyle Brown, Betty Comden & Adolph Green,  Christopher Durang, Horton Foote,  William Gibson,  John Guare,  A. R. Gurney,  Tina Howe,  David Henry Hwang, Tom Jones & Harvey Schmidt,  John Kander & Fred Ebb,  Garson Kanin,  Sidney Kingsley, Arthur Kopit, Robert E. Lee, Arthur Laurents,  Jerome Lawrence, Romulus Linney,  Terrence McNally,  Arthur Miller,  Marsha Norman,  John Patrick,  Sir Peter Shaffer,  Neil Simon, Stephen Sondheim,  Paula Vogel,  Wendy Wasserstein,  August Wilson, and Lanford Wilson.  We are proud to add Octavio Solis to this list of Honorees.

Persons interested in submitting a paper should submit a copy (maximum of twenty-minutes reading time and designed for oral presentation to a general audience) or a substantial abstract with title, by February 28th, 2019; early submissions are encouraged.  Please email to:

We encourage you to forward this message to anyone, or any list, you think might be interested.

Hannah Joyce-Hoven

Producing Director

William Inge Center of the Arts 

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« Chuma Gault will direct festival Tribute | Main | Mary Sue Price 2018 Inge Center Playwright-in-Residence »