« New Play Lab welcomes submissions from playwrights nationwide | Main | Archives: 2016 New Play Lab at the Inge Festival »

Archives: 2017 New Play Lab at the Inge Festival


Nobody is bored when he is trying to make something that is beautiful, or to discover something that is true. ~William Inge

Emerging playwrights from across the nation have been selected to further develop their stories at the Midwest’s distinctive theater festival in a small Kansas town, where story-telling still lives on front porches of gentle evenings.

The New Play Lab of the 36th Annual William Inge Theater Festival and Conference, a partnership between Kansas Creative Arts Industries Commission and Independence Community College, will host 36 outstanding writers from 15 states for the second annual New Play Lab. The Lab takes place April 19-22, during the Inge Festival, the Official Theatre Festival of the State of Kansas.

The scripts, chosen “blind” by a panel of theater artists from across the nation, are rehearsed by top regional directors and actors, in preparation for a public reading for conference and Festival attendees.  Producing partner Kokopelli Theater of Kansas City, MO, casts and rehearses in advance of the Festival, enabling the writers chosen to do a final edit before presentation. A panel of Master Writers and select theater professionals serves as respondents to each work, following the reading.

Play Lab writers join Festival patrons nationwide for panel discussions, lectures, workshops with master playwrights and theater practitioners, evening performances, and the many social events the Festival offers.


The New Play Schedule
and the Full 2017 Inge Festival Schedule, Click Below


The 2017 Inge Festival New Play Lab (in alpha order by title):

2045, by Scott Lummer
A Moment of Clarity, by Philip Middleton Williams
A Punchline, by Michael Schwartz
A String Between Man and the World, by Paige Zubel
An Accident in the Park, by William Ivor Fowkes
Actias Luna – On the Origin of Madness, by Susan Kathryn Hefti
Angels We Have Heard, by Gordon LePage
An Accident in the Park, by William Ivor Fowkes
Break Room, by Rachel Bublitz
The Briefing, by Simon Bowler
Coming up for Air, by Marie Amthor Schuett
Curse of the Wagging Tongue, by Eoin Carney
Duct Tape, by Michael Goldstein
Ebony People, by Steve Gold
Every Concentrated Fragment, by Susan Hansell
Facility, by Phil Darg
Five Days in Calcutta, by Fred Perry
FONDUES and FOND DON'T, by Big Daddy Don Parker
High Grass, by Irene Ziegler
How to be Lazy and Not Feel Guilty, by Drew Petriello
I, Phone, by J. Gulotta
Inherent, by K.J. Dwyer
Johnny Shoemaker, by Rand Higbee
Just Add Water, by John Remington
Legitimate Threat, by Bridget Carson
Like a Billion Likes, by Erik Forrest Jackson
Little Red, by Fengar Gael
Love and Country, by Alex Rubin
Loverboy, by Staci Swedeen
Lured, by Frank J. Avella
Men and Women, by Abbey Khan
O-Town: Voices from Orlando, by David Lee
Ocotillo, by Anna Nicholas
Pillow of Tears, by Lynda Crawford
POSTERS, by Olivia Reevell
Registered, by Daniel Hurewitz
Rouge + Noir, by Connie J. Bennett
Sanctuary, by Val Valdez
She Keeps This Family Together, by Kay Phillips
This Isn’t a Horror Story, by Matthew A Everett
To Grandmother’s House, by Monica McCarthy
Transgress, by Alan Olejniczak

High School Scholarship Winner:
Occupancy of a Disrupted Mind, by Luke Wallace


References (1)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>