Theatre Program at Independence Community College



The Inge Center is an integral part of the Theater program at Independence Community College. This relationship affords ICC Theater students the guidance of more professional theater artists than any other two-year program in the country.

Karen Carpenter heads the Theater program at ICC. Ben Corbett is our Associate Professor of Theater.

For more information about curriculum, academic program and ICC season programming, please visit:


Don't Miss ICC Theatre Production: "The Skin of Our Teeth" Oct. 7-9, 2016

Karen Carpenter, artistic director of the William Inge Center for the Arts, directs an ensemble of talented Independence Community College Theatre Department students in the philosophically epic comedy “The Skin of Our Teeth,” Oct. 7-9, 2016.

Performances of this Pulitzer Prize winning comedy by Thornton Wilder are at 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday Oct. 7-8, and 2 p.m. Sunday Oct. 9 at the William Inge Theatre at the ICC campus.

Admission is $8 adults, $5 students and seniors, and free to all ICC students and staff.

The story condenses all of human history into a family comedy. George and Maggie Antrobus, married for 5,000 years, confront flood, pestilence, ice age, and other imminent apocalypses. But they always look to the future with optimism.  Thornton Wilder’s classic reminds us that humanity has overcome troubles in the past and will do so in the future—somehow!

“The Skin of Our Teeth” involves a large cast of ICC and community actors. Among student actors, Mr. and Mrs. Antrobus are played Casey Smith (Moore, Ok) and Jessica Harper (Cherryvale); playing their children are Rylie Shoop (Neodesha) and Bryson Cole (Goddard.) The time-traveling family is completed by the wry maid Sabina, played by Madeline Booth (Owasso, Ok).

ICC students in the ensemble are Steven Franco (Ulysses); Maurice House II (St. Louis/Elkhardt, IN); Emmalie Ingram (Cherryvale); Julie Ledoux (Belgium); Annestazia Morton (Jenks, Ok); and Courtlyn Rose (Independence).

Community actors include David Allen, Terri Barbera, Jake Bryant, Jess Calhoon, Anthony Keafer, LaTonya Pinkard, and Mike Wood of Independence, and Kenny Aduddell of Coffeyville.

ICC Technical Director Harty Blackert is set designer.  Student backstage help includes Kimberly Bryant (San Diego, CA); Caleb Kimbrel (Independence); Les McDowell (Altamont) and Jordan Rausch (Parsons.)