Scholars Conference

The Scholars Conference is a long-time feature of the annual William Inge Theatre Festival. Theatrical and literary scholars from across the United States and internationally have presented their papers. The papers are then archived in the William Inge Collection at Independence Community College. Customarily, scholars are invited to submit papers on William Inge or the Honoree playwright of that year.

Call for Papers

Papers are invited on the films and plays of William Inge, and/or the works of our 2020 honoree Lynn Nottage, designed for a 20-minute oral presentation at the conference. A wide variety of perspectives and themes are encouraged. Papers selected for presentation at the conference will be deposited in the William Inge Collection at Independence Community College, the major repository of Inge manuscripts, letters, and memorabilia. An online archive of papers is also currently under development.

The William Inge Theater Festival and Conference is in its fourth decade of honoring major living playwrights through a wide range of performances, readings, seminars, workshops, lectures, panel discussions and historical activities. For four days this year, the small city of Independence, Kansas, becomes the theatrical center of the universe, with visits from the nation’s greatest playwrights, directors, actors and other theatre practitioners, who all meet to honor a distinguished playwright in a playwright’s town.

Past recipients are: Edward Albee, Robert Anderson, Jerry Bock & Sheldon Harnick, Carlyle Brown, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Christopher Durang, Horton Foote, William Gibson, John Guare, A. R. Gurney, Beth Henley, Tina Howe, David Henry Hwang, Tom Jones & Harvey Schmidt, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Garson Kanin, Sidney Kingsley, Robert E. Lee, Arthur Kopit, Arthur Laurents, Jerome Lawrence, Romulus Linney, Terrence McNally, Arthur Miller, Marsha Norman, Octavio Solis, John Patrick, Sir Peter Shaffer, Neil Simon, Stephen Sondheim, Paula Vogel, Wendy Wasserstein, August Wilson and Lanford Wilson. We are proud to add Lynn Nottage to this list of Honorees.

Persons interested in submitting a paper should submit a copy (maximum of twenty-minutes reading time and designed for oral presentation to a general audience,) or a substantial abstract with title, by March 23rd, 2020; early submissions are encouraged. Please send to:

Hannah Joyce, Producing Artistic Director
The William Inge Center of the Arts
1057 College Ave.
Independence, KS 67301

We encourage you to forward this message to anyone, or any list, you think might be interested.

Hannah Joyce
Producing Artistic Director
William Inge Center of the Arts
(620) 332-5492 Office