Playwrights from 14 States Participated in New Play Labs

KCAIC logo

The Kansas Creative Arts Industries Commission partners with the William Inge Theater Festival in presenting the New Play Lab. The Commission is dedicated to measuring, promoting, supporting and expanding the creative industries to grow the state's economy and create creative industry-related jobs.

2018 Inge Festival New Play Lab

Twenty outstanding emerging playwrights from 14 states had a public rehearsed reading of one of their new scripts during the 2018 William Inge Theater Festival. Called The New Play Lab, the readings were part of the 37th Annual Inge Festival, May 9-12, at Independence Community College, Kansas.

Each year, the Inge New Play Lab connects emerging playwrights with the national theater community. The playwrights receive feedback of their selected submitted play from a panel of theater experts, meet with fine arts professionals across the country, attend intensive playwriting seminars and a masterclass from the Inge Festival Honoree to help them refine their craft, and enjoy the small-town hospitality of William Inge’s hometown of Independence Kansas.

The New Play Lab writers were selected through a blind reading by a panel of nationwide theater practitioners.

Playwrights are selected annually. Submission procedures for the 2019 New Play Lab will be announced in the fall.

2018 William Inge Theater Festival
New Play Lab Playwrights
Sam Affloumado New York NY
Brendan Beseth Los AngelesCA
Rachael Carnes Eugene OR
Emma Carter Fulton MO
Kevin Daly Hamden CT
Dennis Danziger Los AngelesCA
Richard Davis Jr. AugustaGA
J. Lois Diamond New York NY
Jordan Henry Chattanooga TN
Lee Lawing Bainbridge Island WA
Mildred Lewis Inglewood CA
Carl Maronich Bourbonnais IL
Aleks Merilo Tacoma WA
George Nelson Provo UT
Madeline Puccioni Oakland CA
Ron Radice Andover MA
Greg Romero Austin TX
Boris Timanovsky New York NY
Asher Wyndham Minneapolis MN
Rosemary Zibart Santa Fe NM

2018 William Inge Theater Festival
New Play Lab Schedule
Wednesday, May 9
Time Venue Name of PlayPlaywright
1 p.m. Wesley Ctr.FumblewinterRachael Carnes
1 p.m. Gault HallTalosGeorge D. Nelson
2 p.m. Wesley Ctr.Maybe It Won't HappenRon Radice
2 p.m. Gault HallThe Kitty BombKevin Daly
3 p.m. Wesley Ctr.RankEmma Carter
3 p.m. Gault HallTwo Assholes on an ElephantRick Davis
4 p.m.Wesley Ctr.ParadoxysmJordan Elizabeth Henry
4 p.m. Gault HallOne-Way TicketSam Affoumado
5 p.m. Wesley Ctr.City MiceRosemary Zibart
5 p.m. Gault HallHappi in IowaAsher Wyndham
New Play Lab Schedule
Thursday, May 10
1 p.m. Wesley Ctr.Shalom VietnamDennis Danziger
1 p.m. Gault HallA Proper ManCarl Maronich
2 p.m. Wesley Ctr.Playland ForeverMadeline Daly Puccioni
2 p.m. Gault HallHello OceanJ. Lois Diamond
3 p.m. Wesley Ctr.To Mr. Wilson, c/o Shapiro & Gold/I>Aleks Merilo
3 p.m. Gault HallBookshopBrendan Beseth
4 p.m.Wesley Ctr.BulldozersGreg Romero
4 p.m. Gault HallCowgirlsMildred Inez Lewis
5 p.m. Wesley Ctr.Blue KauaiLee R. Lawing
5 p.m. Gault HallAcropolisBoris Timanovsky

The William Inge Center for the Arts is supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts. Arts Works.

The William Inge Center for the Arts is a constituent member of Theater Communications Group, the national organization for the American Theatre.


For more information regarding The New Play Lab, contact the program directly at: